English| Euskara | Castellano
Official Festival Web
Donostia Kultura San Sebastian Film Festival
#63SSIFF - 18/26 Septiember 2015

Complete this form with your details for accessing the contents reserved for registered users
Click here
Forgotten your password? Click here


You have still not activated your email. We have sent you an email. You must click on the attached link to activate your account.

Awards and Jury Members
You are in: Home › Awards and Jury Members › Youth Award by Desigual
A Graphic Look    • Donostia Award    • Awards    • Jury Members    • Sections and films    • Posters    • Festival Diary    • Photo day by day   
Youth Award by Desigual
00 / 00 / 0000

Jim Taihuttu (Netherlands)

Majid is a talented kickboxer from a grim suburb in The Netherlands. After a stint in prison, gym owner Ben takes him under his wing, but when criminal boss Hakan shows interest in his skills, Majid begins to lose sight of what it is he really wants…

The Youth Jury consists of around 200 youngsters from 18-25 years of age, collectively selected from schools and film academies, by means of draws or in reply to individual letters of invitation.

Participation in the Jury is therefore voluntary and implies the compromise of viewing all of the movies screened in the New Directors selection opting for the Youth Award by Desigual. Members of the Jury must therefore watch a daily average of three films. Students have to commit themselves to attend all the films which compete for the Youth Award by Desigual, which are the films in New Directors and the first and second films participating in Horizontes Latinos section.

The decision to sit on this Youth Jury is voluntary and implies accepting the commitment to attend the screening of all films competing for the award. The Jury members cast several votes a day to choose the winner of the Youth Award by Desigual. The competition is open to films in the New Directors section, and to first and second works participating in the Horizontes Latinos section. Sitting on the Jury means viewing an average of 3 films a day.

The results of the poll are announced daily on the Official Site, the Festival Diary and at the screen placed in the Kursaal hall..

It is the Youth Jury members themselves who organize presentation of the award. The corresponding plaque is presented at the Youth Closing Gala in the Kursaal Centre prior to screening of the winning title.

The programme of activities related to the Youth Award is rounded off with a party at one of the best known discos in San Sebastian, in which the young jury members are invited to participate alongside the different film teams.


Winners of this award in the last years were:

  • 1999 AGNES BROWNE, by Anjelica Huston (USA-Ireland)
  • 2000 FÖRE STORMEN/BEFORE THE STORM, by Reza Parsa (Sweden)
  • 2001 ELLING, by Peter Naess (Norway)
  • 2002 REAL WOMEN HAVE CURVES, Patricia Cardoso (USA)
  • 2003 NOVIEMBRE, by Achero Mañas (Spain)
  • 2004 IN MY FATHER'S DEN by Brad McGann (Nueva Zelanda-Gran Bretaña)
  • 2005 AUPA ETXEBESTE! by directors Asier Altuna and Telmo Esnal (Spain)
  • 2006 KUNSTEN AT GRÆDE I KOR / THE ART OF CRYING by Peter Schønau Fog (Dinamarca)
  • 2007 CARAMEL by director Nadine Labaki (Lebanon-France)
  • 2008 AMOROSA SOLEDAD by directors Martín Carranza and Victoria Galardi
  • 2009 MIN DÎT / THE CHILDREN OF DIYARBAKIR by director Miraz Bezar
  • 2010 ABEL by Diego Luna
  • 2011 WILD BILL, Dexter Fletcher (UK)
  • 2012 7 CAJAS, Juan Carlos Maneglia, Tana Schémbori (Paraguay)

For further information, all those interested in participating can call us on: (00 34) 943 48 12 12, or write to us at: juventud@sansebastianfestival.com

Enrollement to be part of this year's Youth Jury is over.

DESIGUAL, Sponsor of the Youth Award.

Documento sin título


Official Sponsors:
tve Gas Natural Fenosa movistar
Official Collaborators:
Associated Institutions:
Instituzio Kideak | Instituciones socias Ayuntamiento de San Sebastián Diputación de Gipuzkoa Gobierno Vasco Ministerio de cultura, educación y deporte
© Festival Internacional de cine de Donostia-San Sebastián
Desarrollado por: Yo Miento Producciones