tve movistar+
65th San Sebastian Film Festival
22/30 September 2017 - #65ssiff

Complete this form with your details for accessing the contents reserved for registered users
Click here
Forgotten your password? Click here


You have still not activated your email. We have sent you an email. You must click on the attached link to activate your account.

You are in: Home > 2004. 52nd Edition  > Sections and Films
Horas de luz / Hours of Light
Official Section
Horas de luz

September 1987. During a confrontation with the police, Juan José Garfia kills three people in an action forever etched on his mind. Condemned to over a hundred years, Juanjo is a rebel prisoner. In 1991, he punches a hole in the floor of a Black Maria and jumps out while it?s moving. Back in jail, he leads several riots, to which the authorities respond with an experiment: they gather troublesome prisoners together and put them in special confinement. Amid this Hell he meets Marimar, a nurse with whom, despite barely being able to exchange a few words, he shares the feeling of something special. They can only see each other once a month, in the vis-à-vis room. He starts painting and writing. She continues from prison to prison. He becomes her children?s father. And she shows him how to ask for forgiveness. Together they dare to dream of the future. But the future is always a long way off: today they?re still together as the years of sentence continue to stretch ahead of them.
Since studying at the Escuela Oficial de Cine, his film and TV career has developed on three fronts: screenwriting, producing and directing. His directorial debut was La guerra de los locos (1986), winner of the New York Critic?s Association Award. This was followed by Mar de luna (1994) and Turno de oficio, diez años después (1995), directed for Spanish TV. As a screenwriter, he has collaborated with directors including Mario Camus, Fernando Trueba (El sueño del mono loco - The Mad Monkey - winner of the Goya for Best Adapted Screenplay) and Fernando Colomo, in addition to producing Agustín Díaz-Yanes, Carlos Saura or Jaime Chávarri.
Manolo Matjí
José Ángel Esteban, Carlos López, Manolo Matjí
José Luis López Linares
José María Biurrun
Alfonso de Vilallonga
Alberto San Juan, Emma Suárez, José Ángel Egido, Vicente Romero, Andrés Lima
Running Time
98 m.
Official Sponsors:
Official Collaborators:
Associated Institutions:
© San Sebastian International Film Festival | Developed by: Yo Miento Producciones

This website uses cookies to improve the user experience. More info Agree