tve movistar+
65th San Sebastian Film Festival
22/30 September 2017 - #65ssiff

Complete this form with your details for accessing the contents reserved for registered users
Click here
Forgotten your password? Click here


You have still not activated your email. We have sent you an email. You must click on the attached link to activate your account.

You are in: Home > 2011. 59th Edition  > Awards and Jury Members > Official Selection Jury Members > Guillermo Arriaga
Guillermo Arriaga

Guillermo Arriaga is considered to be one of the most influential authors in contemporary literature, figuring among the top echelons of writers in the Spanish language. His work as a screenwriter is some of the most revolutionary and interesting in today’s film world. He has written three novels: Escuadrón Guillotina, Un dulce olor a muerte and El búfalo de la noche (The Night Buffalo); plus a book of short stories: Retorno 201. Translated into several languages, this author who neither adapts nor works under contract, also wrote the screenplays for Alejandro González Iñárritu’s Amores perros and 21 grams, Tommy Lee Jones’ The Three Burials of Melquiades Estrada, with which he won the award for Best Screenplay at the Cannes Festival 2005; Babel, also by González Iñárritu, landing him an Academy Award nomination for Best Screenplay in 2007, and his debut as a film director, The Burning Plain (2008), with Charlize Theron and Kim Basinger.
He is also the producer of Jorge Hernández Aldana’s El búfalo de la noche.

In 2010 he wrote and directed the short, El pozo, to commemorate the Centenary of the Mexican Revolution. He also became the first resident artist at the University of North Texas and won the Star Award bestowed by Dallas Film Festival.


Official Sponsors:
Official Collaborators:
Associated Institutions:
© San Sebastian International Film Festival | Developed by: Yo Miento Producciones

This website uses cookies to improve the user experience. More info Agree