Complete this form with your details for accessing the contents reserved for registered users
Click here
Forgotten your password? Click here


You have still not activated your email. We have sent you an email. You must click on the attached link to activate your account.

You are in: Home > 2007. 55th Edition  > Awards and Jury Members > Official Selection Jury Members > PAUL AUSTER

Paul Auster is the author of Travels in the Scriptorium (2007), The Brooklyn Follies (2006), Oracle Night (2003), The Book of Illusions (2002), The Red Notebook (2002), Timbuktu (1999), Mr. Vertigo (1994), Leviathan (1992), The Music of Chance (1990), Moon Palace (1989), In the Country of the Last Things (1987), and the three novels known as “The New York Trilogy”: City of Glass (1985), Ghosts (1986), and The Locked Room (1987).

He has also written two memoirs, The Invention of Solitude (1982) and Hand to Mouth (1997), and a book of critical essays, The Art of Hunger (1992). Auster’s Collected Prose was published in 2003 and his Collected Poems in 2004.

He also wrote the screenplay for the movie Smoke (1995) and was co-director (with Wayne Wang) of Blue in the Face (1995). Subsequently, he wrote and directed the film Lulu on the Bridge (1998). His most recent film is The Inner Life of Martin Frost (2007), which can be seen out of competition at the San Sebastian Festival, the Official Jury of which will be chaired by the author.

His other works include I Thought My Father Was God (2001), the NPR National Story Project anthology, The Random House Book of Twentieth Century French Poetry (1982) – which he edited– and numerous translations of French writers and poets, including Jacques Dupin, André du Bouchet, Joseph Joubert, Stéphane Mallarmé, Phillippe Petit, Maurice Blanchot, and Pierre Clastres. He also edited the recent Samuel Beckett: The Grove Centenary Edition (2006).

In 2006 Auster was inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters and won Spain’s most prestigious prize for literature – the Premio Príncipe de Asturias de las Letras. Among other awards he has won are the Commandeur de l’Ordre des Arts et des Lettres, the Prix Médicis for the best foreign novel published in France (1992), the Morton Dauwen Zabel award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters (1990), the Silver Bear from the Berlin Film Festival for Smoke (1995), the Independent Spirit Award for best screenplay (1996), and the Borders Books Original Voices Award (2002). His work has been translated into thirty-five languages.


Official Sponsor
Media Partner
Official Collaborators:
Associated Institutions:
© San Sebastian International Film Festival | Developed by: Yo Miento Producciones
This website uses cookies to improve the user experience. More info Agree