tve movistar+
65th San Sebastian Film Festival
22/30 September 2017 - #65ssiff

Complete this form with your details for accessing the contents reserved for registered users
Click here
Forgotten your password? Click here


You have still not activated your email. We have sent you an email. You must click on the attached link to activate your account.

You are in: Home > 2011. 59th Edition  > Awards and Jury Members > Official Selection Jury Members > Sophie Maintigneux
Sophie Maintigneux

Born in 1961 in Antony (France). After having worked as an assistant camera, in 1984 she started working as a cinematographer. She has directed the photography on over 70 feature films and documentaries to date, having worked, among others, with Eric Rohmer, Jean-Luc Godard, Michael Klier, Jan Schütte, Rudolph Thome, Philipp Gröning, Marcel Gisler, Doris Metz, Judith Kennel, Lilo Mangelsdorff, Mirjam Kubescha, Erica von Moeller, Maria Teresa Camoglio, Michael Radford and Mareike Wegener.

Since 1990, she has taught at several film schools, chiefly at the dffb (Deutsche Film- und Fernsehenakademie Berlin) in Berlin.

Throughout her career she has garnered the following awards: Best Photography Award at the Dignes Film Festival (1989); Best Photography from Hessen Federal State (1990); the German Film Critics’ Association Award for Best Photography (1990); the Max Ophüls: Femina Award (2001); a Cameraimage Golden Frog nomination (2001); Silver Award at the 22nd International Film Camera Festival (2001); Best Photography at the 45th Leipzig International Documentary Film Festival (2002); the German Camera Award in the Documentary category (2003 and 2009); plus a nomination for the same award in 2006 and yet another for the German Camera Award in the Feature Film category (2007).

She has worked on over 25 documentaries and on the following feature films, selected from a long list: Le Rayon vert (1984), Les quatre aventures de Reinette et Mirabelle (1985), King Lear (1987), Le jardin des veuves (1988), Überall ist es besser, wo wir nicht sind (1988), Rupture (1988), Winkelmanns Reisen (1990), Ostkreuz (1991), Liebe auf den ersten Blick (1991), Rosa Negra (1991), Das Tripas Coração (1992), Frankie, Johnny und die anderen (1992), Wiederkehr (1994), Küss mich (1994), L’amour, l’argent, l’amour (1997), F. est un salaud (1997), Der Bebuquin. Rendez-vous mit Carl Einstein (1999), Zornige Küsse (1999), Heidi M. (2000), NeuFundLand (2001), Liebe und Verlangen (2002), Siehst du mich? (2004), Krieg der Frauen (2005), Hannah (2006), Alter und Schönheit (2007) and Fräulein Stines fährt um die Welt (2008).


Official Sponsors:
Official Collaborators:
Associated Institutions:
© San Sebastian International Film Festival | Developed by: Yo Miento Producciones

This website uses cookies to improve the user experience. More info Agree